My First Experience

September 23, 2008

Tonight I arrived at the prison and was greeted by 4 other Volunteers and approximately 20 inmates.  I’ll be honest.  I wasn’t sure what to expect.

The “class” is focused on The Purpose Driven Life… A book that I’ve read before and enjoyed very much.

This was exactly what I was hoping for in this experience.  It was right then that I knew … this was orchestrated by God.

Each of the men shook my hand and thanked me for being there.

All hungry souls for God.

We broke into groups, since it was my first night, i sat with another volunteer and his group.

We talked about 3 chapters of the book, did some life application and ended the class about 2 hours later.

At the end of the class, all of the men once again shook my hand and thanked me (in what i feel was a genuine and respectful way) for being there.

The class started and ended with a prayer, given by one of the men.

I was deeply moved by their prayer, thanking God for the fact that we (the volunteers) were all there, sacrificing our families to be there with them.  I was moved.

Again, I knew I was there for God.

I’m still not sure how this will all work, but I do know that if i could just touch one of their lives.

Just one.

My purpose would be done.

Leave a comment